The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

The Curse of the Judas Chalice

Today I was, again, the librarian at Mahomet-Seymour High School. And yes, I am shamelessly taking advantage of the “Librarian” series to give my blog post a name. No, I didn’t fight off bad guys today, either. And now, I wasn’t given the sacred charge to protect the relics kept by the library. Heck, I didn’t even check out any books for the students today.

So what does a second-day substitute librarian do during the day? Well, I can’t speak for other substitutes, but I spent the day organising the non-fiction shelves in the library. As with most libraries in the United States (but not all), the Mahomet-Seymour High School Library is organised according to the Dewey Decimal System. Unfortunately, years of students browsing through the bookshelves and carelessly putting books in wrong places have caused a considerable amount of disorder. So, starting with the very beginning (computer science) and swiftly moving through the various categories, I made sure the books were in the right place. I wasn’t able to get through all of them, but I did make it through the technology and applied sciences. (And no, I don’t know why computer science is in a different category from technology and applied sciences, but it is. Take it up with Dewey and his successors if you have a problem with it.)

Now, when a student comes in wanting to know where a book on astronomy can be found, he doesn’t have to worry about the wrath of Conan the Librarian because he (or she) will not only know the Dewey Decimal System, he or she will also be able to find that book on astronomy.

That isn’t the only thing I did today, though. I also did the usual monitoring of the students using the computers, telling shoddily-dressed young men to remove the hoods from their heads, and helped post the overdue notice. Speaking of which, I’ve come to the conclusion that there would be far fewer late books everywhere if all librarians followed Conan’s example.

What’s that? You don’t get my Conan the Librarian references?! Gasp! Shock! Let’s fix that right now!

Thus ends my week of substituting at Mahomet-Seymour High School. I already have an assignment for tomorrow (middle school math at Edison Middle School), and there’s no school in Mahomet on Friday. I can honestly say that I can hardly wait to go back to MSHS, though! I had half a dozen students tell me that I am “the coolest substitute ever” and many others said that I should get a job at the high school. Of course, I am a certified elementary school teacher, not a secondary education teacher, so I don’t really see that happening, but hey, I appreciate the vote of confidence!

Leave a Reply

