The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Recommended Reading

I did not substitute today. I had to meet with the attorney who is representing my company in bankruptcy proceedings. A long and complicated story for another day and another blog. The meeting started at 9 am and finished around 12:30 pm. This was the first time I had met this attorney, but he was very kind, very understanding, and very thorough. I am glad that we selected him to represent our company. We will probably use him again in the future if needed.

I thought I’d give you some recommended reading today. Even though I just posted a list of 15 influential authors, there are many more that I could have listed and didn’t. But, after a conversation with one of my classes yesterday, I felt the urge to make this particular recommendation. The students were reading a short story called “The Last Dog” by Katherine Paterson. For those who do not know her name, I would hope that you would know of at least two of her books: “Bridge to Terabithia” and “Jacob Have I Loved”. As I told my students, if you’ve never read anything by Katherine Paterson, for shame. If you’ve never read these two books specifically, even more for shame.

“Bridge to Terabithia” is one of my all-time favourite children’s books. More importantly, it is the one book that makes me cry at the end. Not tears of sorrow, but happy tears. I was telling my students about this, and one of the girls, who had seen the movie, said, “But the movie is so sad at the end! If the book ends the same way, then I don’t think I want to read it.” This was my response: “If you read ‘Bridge to Terabithia’ and come away thinking it has a sad ending, then you didn’t read the entire story. Go read it again. I promise you, if you read to the very end, you will realise that it has a very happy ending.”

So that is my recommendation to you today. Go read “Bridge to Terabithia” and try to understand why I stand by my claim that it has a happy ending. I’d love to hear your comments about it, too.

3 responses

  1. POTENTIAL SPOILER ALERT

    Was Bridge to Terabithia the one where the dog gets buried and a big red plant grows out of that spot?

    November 16, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    • Jeff – No. That would be “Where The Red Fern Grows”. “Terabithia” is… well, here’s the trailer:

      November 16, 2010 at 6:05 pm

  2. That’s right. For some reason those two books run together in my memory. Probably read them in the same year.

    November 16, 2010 at 9:08 pm

Leave a Reply

