The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

It's True, I Am the Coolest

Today I was an 8th grade supportive services teacher at Mahomet-Seymour Junior High. Supportive services is a part of special education, so I worked with a small group of 8th grade students over the course of the day. I also helped out in a couple of classrooms and discovered an interesting fact:

All the students at MSJHS know who I am, and they love my hair. They also all seem to agree that I am the coolest substitute teacher ever. This worries me, in a way, because I have only been at the junior high school twice now. At least half of these students drew this conclusion after spending all of 48 minutes with me. But as I walked through the halls, I heard students all around me comment about how awesome I was. So I have to believe that it is true. I felt bad for the other substitutes who were there today, and I tried to point out to the students that many of their subs are awesome, but they insist that I am still the best.

Reasons for me being so awesomely cool include, but are not limited to, the following: I am funny, I am super smart, I am nice, I have awesome hair, and I give high-fives. I love that my Naturally Curly Hair (TM) is listed as an attribute toward my coolness. I appreciate that the students recognise that I am nice and that I have a wickedly awesome sense of humour, and I am glad to know that they know that I know what I am talking about. (Usually.) So, I guess there are good reasons for thinking I am so cool.

I think about my days in grade school, middle school, and high school, and I can only think of a half-dozen subs I had over the 13 years I was in the public education system. One sub was a mean woman named Mrs. Haight, who told us that students hate her and she hates them. One was a middle aged woman who was over-weight and had atrocious body odour. I recall an elderly woman who was still a “Miss” who seemed to hate her life. We had a guy in high school who frequently subbed, even though he didn’t know how to teach. He just told stories about his days as the chief surgeon in the trauma room of a Texas ER, and also told dirty jokes. So that is four. Not even a half-dozen. But all of my students seem to know who I am, recognise me (even outside of school), and tell their teachers that they should have me sub for them. I’ve also had students suggest that I become their regular classroom teacher, and let their current teacher sub for me.

So, what can I say? It must be true: I am the coolest substitute teacher ever.

One response

  1. Pingback: Movies «

Leave a Reply

