The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Sick

I didn’t work on Thursday or Friday of last week as a result of the Thanksgiving holiday. My wife and I went to visit my parents and had a wonderful time with them and many other members of our family. We ate lots of tasty food, especially in the pie category. We also went to see the new Harry Potter movie, went shopping on Black Friday, and generally had a great time.

Until Saturday morning.

That is when we both woke up feeling very ill. Nausea, vomiting, and other nastiness afflicted us non-stop. We managed to gain mobility and loaded ourselves into our car and made the drive home in an hour and a half with only one stop. Needless to say, our diet became suddenly restricted to saltine crackers and ginger ale, lovingly provided by Gretchen’s family.

On Sunday the illness began to abate, but it was not gone. By Sunday evening it occurred to me that I had not really eaten anything in almost 48 hours. And so work today was out of the question, despite there being opportunities.

Instead, I spent today taking care of personal business, running errands, returning a huge pile of movies and one book to the library and paying my overdue charges, and finally getting my hands of John Grisham’s currently-penultimate publication, Ford County, which is a collection of short stories. I also got my hands on Dune, with the intention of finally reading Frank Herbert’s epic masterpiece.

I fully expect to be at work tomorrow, though. In the meantime, let me share this video with you, which is an example of one of the many things in this world for which I am grateful: the ability to laugh.

One response

  1. Bryce

    Dune is amazing. Read the whole series.
    I usually read it once a year except this year.

    December 4, 2010 at 9:04 am

Leave a Reply

