The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Honey-Do Lists

Today was another day in which I had no teaching assignments. So I decided it was time to tackle some of the items on the metaphorical honey-do list that has been building. This is the list of things that my wife and I have been meaning to do for quite a while, and we occasionally say to one another, “Honey, will you do this today?” (To which the inevitable response is, “I’m busy, but I’ll do it soon, I promise!”

The morning started off with finally clearing out the junk from my last box of unsorted stuff that had been packed up when we moved back in June. Then Gretch and I had breakfast and cleaned up the kitchen and living room. With those tasks out of the way, we tackled the biggest item on the list: The Garage.

* cue suspenseful music *

It really wasn’t that bad. Just miscellaneous supplies and equipment from our now-closed business and our stored items that needed a better home. It took about an hour, but our garage is clear one again. Unfortunately, we still can’t park our car in it (a great shame when it is winter and the car routinely gets buried under snow and ice whilst residing in the driveway). But there is progress, and as soon as the piano which we are (sadly) giving away is gone and the equipment from the business has been carted off by the bankruptcy trustee, then, oh frabjous day!, I can park my car in my garage (or carhold, if you so prefer).

Later on today we will finally decorate our home for Christmas (which will really just be setting out our cookie jars), and I may get around to hanging my hat collection along the top of the hallway walls.

So yep, that’s what I have done and will be doing today instead of working. Fun times, eh?

Leave a Reply

