The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Dreams

Last night, or, more likely, early this morning, I had a dream that I missed a teaching assignment at Washington Middle School in Ottawa, Illinois. Here’s the thing:

  1. I don’t teach in Ottawa.
  2. They don’t have a Washington Middle School. (They do, however, have a Jefferson Elementary, a Lincoln Elementary, and a McKinley Elementary, but none of those are the correct president. Oh, and they aren’t middle school. The middle school in Ottawa is Shepherd).
  3. Even if I did and they did, the district is, like most other districts (except my little sister’s, apparently), are on Winter Break right now.

There were other strange elements to the dream. I had apparently thought the assignment was at Washington Middle School in Washington, Illinois, which is where I grew up. I had initially gone to the old building where I had gone to middle school, but the building is now owned by the park district, since the school district upgraded to a new building several years ago. I thought the assignment was from 1:00-2:30 pm, which is a ridiculous assignment, but it was actually from 8:00-9:00 am, which is even more ridiculous. Also, my wife was dropping me off at work. Never mind the fact that Washington is a good hour and a half away from where we live. Oh, and she had apparently stopped on the side of the road in front of some guy’s garage, and he got really upset and started yelling and screaming at her for blocking his drive, because he had to go around the van (we were in the van we sold about a year ago) to put his trash can away. Then a police officer popped his head in the window and told her that she could park “over there” (a location that actually made sense to me). All this while, I was using the Google Maps app on my phone, along with the online substitute assignment site, to discover that I had completely missed the assignment and had gone  to the wrong school, the wrong district, the wrong city, and even the wrong county. At some point in the dream, I had thought that maybe I was supposed to be at the Washington Middle School in Peoria, Illinois, which is a town close to Washington.

I can only assume that this is a form of madness that comes to teachers who have not been teaching for a while, but wish they were. The fact that I actually looked up information for the Ottawa Elementary District 141 in order to verify all of this only contributes to the madness that are my dreams. The strangest part of all, though, is that I generally don’t dream. I tend to think in my sleep. When I do dream, the dreams are short and vague. This was long and vivid and detailed. Enough so that I woke up actually nervous that I had botched up an assignment!

Good thing I am on break!

2 responses

  1. Mary

    What did you eat last night at the taekwondo graduation?

    December 22, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    • I had the same thing everyone else had: potato salad, deli hoagies, a sandwich, a hot dog with chili, mystery bean-and-potato dish, and pumpkin cheesecake, with a healthy dose of yellow sugar water to drink. But I’m not sure what this has to do with a bizarre dream I had almost 24 hours earlier…

      December 22, 2010 at 2:37 pm

Leave a Reply

