The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Venting

Today I was a 3rd grade teacher at Stratton Elementary in Champaign. Today was a very rough day. Of the sixteen students in the class, four of them were awesome, eight of them were less-than desirable, and four of them were quite terrible. Or, rather, their behaviour was, respectively, awesome, less-than desirable, and quite terrible. I do not believe any child is bad. It is the behaviour that is bad.

Anyway, during the course of the day, I struggled with a lot of behavioural problems. During lunch, and after school, I was able to express concerns with my colleagues. I was appreciative of their support and encouragement. I also received encouragement from some of the students who were behaving admirably well.

What I find interesting about all of this, it never occurred to me that it would be a good idea to turn to my blog to vent about my students. It is one thing to say I had a rough day. It is an entirely different matter to turn to the internet and use profane, disrespectful, and hateful language in describing my students, my job, my employers, and pretty much everyone in the world. Venting is healthy, but it needs to be done in the appropriate setting. It is totally cool for me to vent to my colleagues and to my wife. But I will never use my very public blog to vent to the world.

Besides, I love my job. Even on the rough days. “For it must needs be that there be opposition in all things…” If all of my days were wonderful, I would become complacent and lackadaisical in my work. So here’s to hoping for a better tomorrow!

5 responses

  1. Good for you! There have been many times I have bit my tongue instead of complaining about the “demons” I had to deal with that day on Facebook.

    March 8, 2011 at 8:26 pm

  2. P.S. I LOVE LOVE LOVE the cartoon banner on your site. It is hilarious!

    March 8, 2011 at 8:26 pm

  3. Thanks for the support and thanks for the compliment! My wife, a freelance graphic designer, drew it for me. Thanks for coming by!

    March 8, 2011 at 8:33 pm

  4. I’m sorry you had a bad day.

    March 8, 2011 at 10:27 pm

  5. Pingback: Mediation «

Leave a Reply

