The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

In the Computer Lab

Today I was a social studies teacher at Mahomet-Seymour High School. My classes included world cultures, world geography, and current history. The students were excellent, most have had me before, and the teachers notes for the day were clear and well-organised. So things went pretty well today.

Many of the classes were working on projects, so I spent the majority of the day in the computer lab. The students were mostly working on their projects, although some claimed to be done and played online flash-based games instead. They insisted that their teacher allows them to do this, although I found out later that he does not, in fact, allow them to play games. However, I trust my students to tell me the truth and to be responsible for their own actions, and if they want to be dishonest and hurt their own grades, that is up to them.

I am always surprised at the types of games that students play while on the computers. Most are appropriate educationally-based games, such as those found on Coolmath.com, but, occasionally, someone tries to sneak through with a game that is not appropriate. Usually, these games involve takes on the first-person shooter model and include killing and bloodshed. Fortunately, my students are always willing to close the game and go somewhere else. Today, though, I witnessed a new game. It is called Robot Unicorn Attack. I have no idea what the appeal of this game is, but it seems to be popular.

What can I say? Kids are weird, even (or maybe especially) the ones in high school.

Leave a Reply

