The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Mediation

Today I was a 2nd grade (gifted/talented) teacher at Stratton Elementary in Champaign. With just 7 1/2 school days remaining before the end of the year, it is also quite possible that today was last day this year that I will have been with this class. In case you are new to the blog (hahaha – yes, I like to think that I have new people coming by), you can read my previous adventures with this class here, here, and here. I went to this assignment with an expectation that we would have another great day. Alas, I forgot to factor in the fact that the school year is almost over.

To be totally honest, the day wasn’t that bad. Compared to some of my other experiences at Stratton, the class was quite well behaved. But I have come to have higher expectations for them because I know what they are capable of doing. Still, I was somewhat disappointed that so many members of the class were constantly getting off task, talking when they were supposed to be working independently, and the petty arguments.

Oy vey, the arguments!

“He stole my pencil!”
“She took something from my desk!”
“He won’t work with me!”
“She’s making me do all the work!”
“She hid my shoes under the cubbies two weeks ago, and now I found them, and she was going to write on them, but she didn’t!”
“She kicked me in the gut! Well, okay, actually, my back, but she kicked me!”

Sure, the complaints were legitimate. Nobody was making things up. And yes, these boys and girls are only in the second grade. But they have spent a lot of time this year on conflict resolution. I mediated each complaint as it came to me. The boy who stole a pencil? He had already given it back. The girl who took something from a boy’s desk? All she had done was look at it; she didn’t actually take anything. The boy who wasn’t working? Well, okay, this was actually a legitimate problem, and the final solution was to just have his partner work on her own, with the promise that his mother was going to be getting a phone call later. The girl who was making her partner do all the work? They needed to come up with a division of labour. The girl who hid the shoes? It was two weeks ago; nothing I can do about it now. Nothing had happened to them, and it wasn’t that big of a deal. The boy who got kicked in the gut (actually the back)? It was an accident, and the girl had already apologised.

By the end of the day, I had most of the class working on their projects the way they should have been all day. I was thoroughly exhausted, but it was a good day. Who knows… maybe I will be there again before the end of the year. If I do, I fully expect to have a great day. And, knowing now that the class is becoming somewhat more whiny, I will address it from the beginning of the day. You live, you learn, you move on.

I find out about my job interview tomorrow afternoon! Wish me luck!

2 responses

  1. I hope it’s good news tomorrow 🙂

    May 19, 2011 at 6:26 pm

  2. Pingback: Something New, Something Old «

Leave a Reply

