The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Blegh

My wife and I went shopping on Friday evening, and I happened to have the misfortune of handling money that had been handled by a cashier who was sniffling and wiping his nose before and after the transaction. Teachers are always harping on students about not touching their “T-zones”: your eyes, nose, and mouth.

I think we should also tell them to not touch anything that has been touched by someone who has previously touched any of the above facial features.

It doesn’t take long to catch a cold from someone who is carrying the virus. In my case, it took roughly 24 hours. I spent Saturday evening and all day Sunday in a medicated stupor, hoping to overcome the cold well enough to come to work today.

I succeeded.

Kind of.

I felt dizzy and lightheaded most of the day, but I managed to make it to the end, and even through our weekly staff meeting! As a precaution, though, I warned my class that I had been sick over the weekend. I asked for a volunteer to run to my grade-level partner’s room and tell her if I happened to collapse to the floor and/or pass out. Several volunteered, and other volunteered to help maintain order. I didn’t collapse or pass out,fortunately, but I am glad that I have students who are willing to run for help in an emergency!

Hopefully I’ll be feeling better tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

