The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Family Math Night

Today was the formal beginning of our social studies research project. Moving forward from the success of our animal inquiry project, I have decided to have the students select a European explorer and work on compiling their findings. We began making a list of explorers yesterday and one of the boys in the class mentioned Isabella I of Castille. While Queen Isabella was not an explorer, she did contribute considerably to Spanish exploration. So I wasn’t surprised at all when one of the groups of girls in the class asked if they could research Queen Isabella. They are going to have some challenges in doing the research, but I am confident that they will present an excellent report, as will everyone else!

We spent the rest of the day on math and literacy, with the biggest focus on math. This was to prepare everyone for our school’s Family Math Night. The students were encouraged to come to school this evening with their families to engage in a variety of math activities. While we didn’t have quite the turn out that we had for our school open house, there were still many families that came in.

I was monitoring the marshmallow architecture area, where students were allowed to build whatever they wished using mini marshmallows and toothpicks. Many had their parents helping them.  It seemed like everyone had a good time. I encouraged a couple of boys from my class to try to make a Buckminster Fuller dome, better known as a geodesic dome, but I gotta admit: I love Bucky’s name! They actually made quite a bit of progress, despite the troubles of working with toothpicks and soft marshmallows. I took quite a few pictures, but I am still waiting on the photo release authorisation information before I share any of them. As promised before, pictures will be posted as soon as I know I have the clearance to do so!

One response

  1. Pingback: Family Science Night «

Leave a Reply

