The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Typing and Letters

Today was Tuesday, despite my brain’s repeated efforts to convince me that it was Wednesday. I even got up and put the trash out this morning and then I was confused when I got home and saw that it was still there. Other teachers said that they felt the same way. I don’t really know the reason why this happens, but it does from time to time.

Luckily, I didn’t forget which day it was when I set up the schedule for today, which included computer lab, library, and then more computer lab in the afternoon. One of the great advantages of my room is that we are right across the hall from the library, so we have easy access to the lab (which is connected to said library). There are some weeks when my class is in there a lot but we usually spend our set 30 minutes in the morning and then another 30 minutes or so later in the day in the lab on Tuesdays. Instead of going right after library, though, I scheduled us for the end of the day.

I was hoping we could work on typing up our business letters to Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration regarding the disputed Southern Ocean, but I failed to take into account one very important fact: none of my students have been taught how to type. And since we don’t have that much time in the week anyway, we probably won’t get a chance to really focus on this particular skill. There is just too much else that needs to be done.

We did do some work on typing the letters. Well, kind of. In fact, all we got done this time around was the header (author’s address, date, and the addressee’s address). But it was a start, and we’ll work on them more, either later this week or just each Tuesday until we’re done. While this may be frustrating to some, who want things to happen quickly, I am content to let my students get the practice using the computers and learning what they can do with them. The letters will get written and typed eventually, and when they are all done, we will be mailing them out. I would love for this to happen by the end of the semester, but if we have to table the project until the end of the winter break, that’s okay, too! The amount of time it takes isn’t nearly as important as the independent learning that is going on as we work on this project, which is itself an off-shoot of another project that I do expect to have finished by the end of next week. That project will be worked on tomorrow, possibly during the time that I am gone for another of my monthly Literacy Across Content Areas inquiry group meetings.

In the meantime, it is after 8 pm, I’ve had an unexpectedly large number of visitors to my blog this evening, and now I need to go eat dinner and watch some more of Eureka with my wife on Netflix. Ah, the life of a fourth grade teacher!

2 responses

  1. Katrina Wefel

    Funny, I kept thinking it was Wednesday today, too.

    December 6, 2011 at 9:04 pm

  2. Pingback: Storybirds «

Leave a Reply

