The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Teacher Record Day

Today was Teacher Record Day in the district. All teachers were expected to report for work and to participate in workshops in the buildings for a specified amount of time, but there was flexibility on what that would look like. For me, it involved being able to take my wife to work and having the car, instead of the other way around, wearing jeans and sneakers, and spending the morning and part of the afternoon meeting with my grade level partner and making some plans for the coming semester.

We also had a teacher potluck lunch, in which it was revealed that, in addition to having fabulous hair, being a sharp dresser, and excelling at teaching, I am also an amazing cook. My wife and I stayed up last night making fried boneless sweet and sour chicken, which was a huge hit at the potluck. At least one teacher suggested that I be the official caterer for the next staff meeting. If someone paid for the foodstuffs, I would totally do it, because I do enjoy cooking. Another colleague commented that, not only do I cook, but I also worked as a custodian and therefore know how to clean. This led yet another teacher to ask if I happened to do plastic surgery because, as she put it, “Any man who can cook, clean, and make me look younger would be the Perfect Man.” Nuts. Two out of three isn’t too bad, though, is it?

And now the semester is really over. I am planning on putting in some time in the classroom next week, just because I want to take advantage of the time, but I am officially on holiday break. Two weeks to sleep in, relax, and make plans for an awesome second semester! As mentioned yesterday, I probably won’t be posting every day, and since the chances of me running into any of my students or their families are extremely slim, I hope that each and every one of you have a wonderful winter holiday break, whatever you may be doing!

Leave a Reply

