The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

PBIS Conference

Today was Day Two of the Illinois PBIS 2012 Winter Conference. I spent two days receiving training on how to better implement the best-practices rooted in the philosophical construct of Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports. It was really awesome learning, networking, and training.

There was a great deal of information shared over the two days. So much information, in fact, that I feel like it will take me several days to even begin to synthesise it all and begin to start using these ideas in my classroom. However, there are some ideas that I will start using right away.

Coming out of the conference, I find that I am in agreement with Susan Barrett, who gave the keynote address this morning on the PBIS Blueprint: it is great to gather with hundreds of fellow professionals who are passionate about what we do. The term she used to describe this excitement was “geeking out” and I agree! She also shared this video clip as an example:

(For the record, I don’t care for the title of the clip.)

I’ll do a weekend post to really debrief on the PBIS Conference. For now, I am going to spend time with my wife, who I haven’t seen in two days.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: INTC Conference – Day One «

  2. Pingback: Like Hearing a Foreign Language «

Leave a Reply

