The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

A Very Windy Day

We have had an extremely mild winter here in East Central Illinois. We’ve had snowfall just a few times, but I don’t think it has lasted longer than a day yet. There is still snow in the forecast, but I have my doubts.

Today was a particularly unusual day, especially for the end of February. It wasn’t a record high temperature (that was back in 1971, according to the Illinois State Weather Survey, when it hit 71 degrees), but it was a lot warmer than the average 43 degrees. So, of course, I took my class outside in the morning after an extended period of work so that they could run around and enjoy the fresh air.

That was when we discovered it was also very windy outside. We were playing a class game of kickball, and several of the students’ kicks went far askew due to the gusts.

We ended up opening the windows in our classroom just before lunch and kept them open throughout the afternoon. At the very end of the day, as we were going over how the class did on meeting expectations for the afternoon, something really shocking happened.

I asked the class to think about how they did with meeting the expectation about not defenestrating anything or setting anything on fire. (The actual wording is “No defenestration and no fires.”) Just as I asked this question, there was a sudden gust of wind and we heard a whooshing noise. I looked toward the window and realised that one of the posters hanging on the wall had gotten sucked down and out the open window.

One of my students immediately cried out, “Oh my gosh! Mother Nature just defenestrated the poster!”

I love it when the kids in my class spontaneous demonstrate that they not only pick up the words I use regularly in the room, but also show that they know what it means and how to use it in a sentence!

Leave a Reply

