The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Lacrosse

Several weeks ago, I received an email from my principal regarding an email she had received from two of the members of the Illinois Women’s Lacrosse Club. The email was offering to come in during a P.E. time and share the sport with them. Even though the sport is separated by gender, they assured me they had activities for boys and girls.

I was quite pleased to see this email, for a number of reasons:

  1. I love having outside experts come in and share with the class what they do to provide a “real world’ perspective and
  2. I don’t know how to teach P.E. (I took a grand total of one class on the subject, and that was back in 2001 or maybe 2002. I honestly have no real training on the matter, so I am kind of winging it…)

So, with those two points in mind, I emailed the lacrosse girls and said, yes, please come to my class and teach them about this sport! We arranged a schedule, but there was a miscommunication, so it got bumped a week later. That happened to be last Thursday, which was when I was at the INTC Conference, so I missed the first day of lacrosse.

Fortunately, they were able to come again today, which had my class totally stoked! Everyone was participating and having a great time learning about lacrosse. (I’d love to introduce my class to rugby, but I think that sport may be just a tad bit too rough for fourth graders…) I was also able to snap some photos of the students practicing drills with the lacrosse women:

Here are some of the students practicing catching the lacrosse balls.

The students did a relay where one of the lacrosse players would toss the ball and the students took turns trying to catch it. The goal was 5 catches. I think this group got ten or so.

Here’s the other group doing the relay; they had twenty catches!

Another action shot of the relays. The students all had a great time!

We have ISAT testing next week, which will get in the way of having P.E., but the lacrosse girls are going to try to come back the following week for one more day of lacrosse. They’ve also invited the entire class to come to their first matches of the Spring season on Saturday, March 31, at the fields on First and Peabody in Champaign. The games start at 9:30 am.

3 responses

  1. Barb

    My son is a huge rugby fan, after soccer that is. He is a huge All Blacks fan. We even watched the World Cup of Rugby Games. He can sing the New Zealand National anthem, loves haka and scrums with his brother and parents.

    March 1, 2012 at 9:54 pm

  2. I know! He has frequently mentioned being a rugby fan. The other day, I was handing out small novelty erasers, and there was one that looked like a rugby ball and another that looked like a soccer ball. He selected the soccer ball and I was like, “Wait, I thought you were a rugby guy!” He was torn, and then selected the rugby one instead!

    March 1, 2012 at 10:13 pm

  3. Pingback: Exhaustion is the Key «

Leave a Reply

