The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

The End

I believe I have mentioned this from time to time, but I can’t find any of the posts in which I did so, and I just don’t feel like looking through all of them right now. The “this” of which I speak is that I have worn a different tie to work each day since October 31.

There wasn’t a particular reason for this, other than boredom and curiosity. I had never counted how many ties I owned, although I knew I had at least 48 and probably less than 100. I mentioned this to my class, and asked them to make predictions as to how long I could go before repeating a tie. The predictions ranged from a few days to a few months to 364 days. My own prediction was that I could make it all the way to Spring Break.

I was able to wear all of my Christmas ties in the weeks before the winter break, and I tried to rotate in novelty ties in an even spacing. Some of my students claimed that I wore one tie a second time a few weeks ago, but I am pretty certain they were merely confusing it with another that, to be fair, does look an awful lot like it.

Finally, I was down to the last few ties. I was hoping I could make it all the way to the end of this week, but it didn’t look like I’d make it. Then I remembered: I owned one more tie, but it isn’t really a tie. It is a clip-on. I wore it yesterday, marking day 122 since October. Of course, that includes weekends, holidays, and professional development days (like conferences), and school assemblies. I didn’t wear ties on those days (except for Sundays, but I wasn’t going to include wearing ties to church in the experiment.

So, by my count, I own (and wore) a total of 64 60 ties (I thought there were more, but I counted again), not including my two bow ties and my bolo. I think I need more ties.

Leave a Reply

