The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

ISAT – Day Two

We are now halfway through the ISAT exams for this week! The students did a great job during the testing again, and seemed very confident about their results.

Except for the short-response question during the mathematics session about range–we haven’t covered mean, median, mode, and range yet, so several of the students weren’t sure what it meant. While I do not, at present, have the capability to travel back in time to address this issue, I will be giving a considerable amount of thought over the next few months to figure out how to better prepare my class for ISATs next year.

Before we started testing in the morning, I was talking to the class briefly about the Boston College hoodie I was wearing today. I admitted that I have never been to Boston, but I had a sister go to school there and a friend who is working at MIT now. I also explained that most of my hoodies were gifts given to me by friends who attended colleges and universities all around the United States.

Suddenly, one student raised his hand and asked a question that made my heart thrill: “Mr. Valencic, can we do a research project on different colleges and universities next week?! And can we go around and share what our favourite schools are?!”

There was a spontaneous cheer of approval from his classmates. There was, of course, no way that I would tell my students no to such a question! I am going to come up with guidelines for the the research and find ways to tie it into some of the other topics we are studying. I know of one restriction I am going to make right now: no student can research the University of Illinois or Parkland College. After all, I want them to learn new things. The more I think about it, the more I think I may have them focus on some of the older schools in the nation. That will tie in quite well with our early American history unit. Definitely something to think about while the students are testing tomorrow and Thursday!

2 responses

  1. Lynda

    Dartmouth was started in the Colonial period for Native Americans, in hopes to bridge the gap with Europeans. I learned that from reading the New Hampshire report!

    What better way to promote an interest in pursuing higher education? Great idea!

    March 7, 2012 at 12:36 am

    • Maybe I’ll do a simple compare/contrast model with colonial colleges and modern ones. This could be really awesome!

      March 7, 2012 at 7:58 am

Leave a Reply

