The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

The Book Fair Is Coming

My school has a very active Parent Teacher Association (PTA) of which I am finally a member. (The only reason I did not join last year was that no one ever suggested I should!) In addition to providing excellent supports for teachers during class parties, conferences, Teacher Appreciation Week, and other events, the PTA works with Scholastic to put on two book fairs each year.

The Scholastic Book Fair is always a huge event. The students love having the opportunity to purchase books for themselves and for their classrooms. Our first book fair will be next Thursday and Friday during Parent-Teacher Conferences. To get the students prepped, each student was invited to write a book review for any book they wanted. These reviews will be posted during the fair. The class with the highest percentage of reviews won a prize. (My class didn’t win.) In addition, one student who wrote a review from each class was randomly selected to receive a free book, and every class that participated is also receiving a book, all courtesy of our awesome PTA.

My class was able to go to the book fair preview this morning and we browsed the many books that were available. I was happy to see that there is a new School of Fear book out. My classroom has the first two, so it’d be great to get the next in the series. They also have The Secret of the Fortune Wookiee, which is the third book in the insanely popular Origami Yoda series. One book I was hoping to see but didn’t was Wonder by R.J. Palacio, which is getting a lot of buzz among nerdy teachers around the Internet. It may be available during the actual book fair (not all of the titles were brought out for the preview) or through the Online Book Fair, but I’m not sure yet.

Either way, I am glad that my students are excited about the book fair! Not only will many of them be getting their own books to read and love, but many parents also let them pick out books to donate to our classroom library. I’m hoping we’ll be able to fill up my bookshelves soon!

Leave a Reply

