The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Matilda

This was a really long week. Well, okay, so the week was just as long as any other, but if felt like a really long week. I am sure that this had a lot to do with the large number of assessments my students had to take. By the end of the morning, I could tell that my class was just tired. They had been working hard and had to maintain a great deal of focus in order to get through all of the assessments, tests, probes, and quizzes we had.

At the same time, I was so proud of my twenty-six students! They really did their best to meet expectations and to set an example for other students. The other fourth grade class also did amazing work this week! Their teacher was sick for two days, so they had two different subs, but they still kept going! I was proud of this fourth graders, too!

I wanted a way to let my class celebrate their accomplishments. I was talking to my fourth grade teaching partner about this and mentioned that I was thinking of showing a movie with my class. Then I suggested that we bring our two classes together to celebrate together. She thought this would be an awesome way to end the week.

After wrapping up some work for the day, such as a spelling test and meeting with one of my reading groups, my students gathered their chairs and walked over to the other fourth grade room. (Their room is bigger than mine, so it makes sense to go their instead of bringing them to my room. Also, the video cart is currently there.)

We decided to watch Matilda for the main reason that I happened to have a copy of it in my classroom. We had time to watch the first half of the film, and are tentatively planning on watching the second half next week. Before starting the movie, we reviewed expectations, especially in terms of being respectful by not talking and being safe by keeping seated–we have, after all, fifty students in the fourth grade.

This celebration really was a great way to wrap up our week! We won’t do things like this every week, but it is good to know that we can celebrate as a fourth grade family every now and then!

Leave a Reply

