The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Snow Day

After a week of ISAT testing, a week of wrapping up the third quarter, and a week of Spring Break, I was all set to return to school today and start many of the wonderful ideas I have for the fourth quarter!

I went to school to get everything ready for the coming week. I had a very productive day and was excited for Monday to come so I could reconnect with my students and get going on our Writers’ Workshop, Wonder, division of multi-digit whole numbers, fractions, decimals, Lewis & Clark, Abraham Lincoln, the water cycle and weather systems, and a host of other awesome things to come.

Mother Nature, it seems, had other plans. Winter just won’t go away this year! There was a light dusting on snow on Friday evening, but Saturday was pleasantly cool, with temperatures in the mid-40s. Then it got colder and, by Sunday afternoon, the snow started. And it just kept coming. With somewhere in the range of 10-12 in (25-30 cm) with the snow continuing to fall into today, school was canceled.

So, we’ve got a snow day! Add to this the fact that we have our Spring Holiday on this coming Friday, and I’ve got three days with my class this week. Not the ideal situation, but we’ll make it work!

In the meantime, stay safe and have fun! I think I’m going to make an igloo in my front yard today.

Leave a Reply

