The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Double Assembly Day

As the end of the year approaches, we seem to have lots of assemblies. There are celebrations of students’ accomplishments, previews of the fifth grade musical, visits from the Public Health Department and the local police and fire departments about safety, visits from the public library, and special presentations showcasing some of the musical ensembles we have in our school.

Today was a double assembly day, featuring the last two mentioned above. The Urbana Free Library had originally scheduled to come yesterday morning, but they had to reschedule so they came today. The children’s librarians shared a skit of sorts about the library’s summer reading program, highlighted some of the new books they have, and generally tried to get the students pumped up about reading over the summer.

Then after lunch, we had the fifth grade band and strings concert. It was great listening to the students who were in my class last year, listening to them as they made music, and then realising that more than half of the students in band or strings came from my room last year. I don’t know that I can claim any credit for it, but I am thrilled to see so many of my former students pursuing music!

The strings performed first. They shared a small set of songs, and I was able to take a recording of one of them:

Following the strings, the fifth grade band performed a small set of songs, one of which I was also able to record:

The concert was wonderful! I am looking forward to years of listening to students practicing in the small spare rooms in our building, particularly when they are just down the hall from me. One of the great joys of teaching fourth grade is that I get to see my students again the next year as they grow as fifth graders and prepare for middle school. The fifth grade musical will be shared with the school sometime next week. From what I have heard, it will be absolutely fantastic!

Leave a Reply

