The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

The Wonder of Wonder

Before I say anything, I feel I should explain I am writing this quick post on my phone. Also, this post is going to be short because we are out and about and I don’t have much time. I will probably go back later and edit, putting in links and such.

As you may know, I finally read the book Wonder to my class. I love this story! I was so thrilled when I got to read it on my own and was excited to share it with my students. They loved the story, too, which was the first book I read to my class entirely on our lovely carpet.

We finished Wonder today. I admit, I got a little choked up at the end, but I made it through. It is a wonderfully sweet tale of empathy, friendship, patience, tolerance, courage, and love. If you haven’t read it yet, I strongly encourage you to do so!

Several of my students shared the same thoughts when we finished:

This has been th best book ever!

I am definitely going to read this book to my class next year, but they are going to hear it starting on the first day instead of the end of the year!

Leave a Reply

