The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

A Classroom of Readers

The year is practically over. Tomorrow is the last full day of school, but with an afternoon of school-wide celebrations, we really just have the morning to wrap up the year. Then we have a three-day weekend before students return on Tuesday for one hour to get report cards, clean out desks and lockers, and say goodbye.

As part of my end-of-year activities, I asked each of my students to share with me their personal favourite book they read this year. It could be a book from a reading group, a read aloud, a Battle of the Books selection, or a book that was read independently of any other school activity. Here are the selections that I was told:

 We really have become a classroom of readers. Now yes, there are some students in my class who really don’t like to read, but they’ll do it. And there are some who struggle with the grade-level texts we have, but they try. We read every day, we talked about reading, we wrote about reading, we lived and breathed reading. Of course, we did other things in my classroom this year, including all of the core content areas (math, English/language arts, science, social studies, physical education), but all of these content areas have incorporated large amounts of reading. I started the year by telling my students that they were going to read more and work harder than they ever have before. I think we have been successful in reaching this goal.

I am so proud of all of my students! One day more! (And an hour!) We are going to make it!

Leave a Reply

