The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

INTC STEM Conference

I have done quite a few things with and through the Illinois New Teacher Collaborative. Among them are the New Teacher Mentoring program that I have recently completed, the INTC Induction and Mentoring Conference (a two-day conference), and the two-day INTC Beginning Teacher Conference. Sometime back in April or May, I received an email from the INTC announcing a new conference: the INTC STEM Conference for Beginning Teachers. Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics are increasingly important content areas as we move forward in the 21st Century, and so the Collaborative decided to provide a two-day conference for new teachers interested in improving their STEM teaching practices.

I, of course, signed up as soon as registration opened and was quickly approved for participation. I had been looking forward to this conference all summer long, even as I had been going through my whirlwind of conferences and workshops. The conference was held this past Tuesday and Wednesday. It was fantastic!

I was able to attend five “hot topic” breakout sessions where I learned about using video technology in the classroom, literacy resources available on ReadWriteThink.org, guiding students in the C-E-R process (claims, evidence, reasoning), improving math conversations, and taking advantage of local resources for teaching STEM topics. There was also a key-note address by Dr. Lawrence Angrave, a computer science professor at the University of Illinois.

This conference was a wonderful way to wrap up an amazing summer of professional development. I have learned so much throughout the summer and cannot wait for school to start so I can share what I’ve learned with my colleagues and, more importantly, my students!

Oh, and I learned how to make my very own bouncy ball!

1005194_10102747664624880_763444766_n

Leave a Reply

