The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Summer Reading VIII, IX, and X

On my way home from my workshop on Lake Ontario, I started reading the eBook version of Neil Gaiman’s fantasy novel Neverwhere. It was the first adult novel that Gaiman wrote that I had loved and I absolutely loved it. Unfortunately, there is a two-week limit to eBook downloads through the library and I had had to download the book about a week before I could finally start reading it. So I am not done with it, although I have put another hold request on it.

The next eBook I started reading was The Pact by Jodi Picoult. She is quickly becoming one of my favourite authors for adults. I’ve learned that she and her daughter also wrote a YA novel that I am waiting to come in through a library request. As with the Neil Gaiman book, I ran out of time before I had to “return” the eBook (delete it from my device), and so I moved on to the next book I had waiting.

The book I am currently reading is The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate. I have heard so many good things about this story all year long. It won the 2013 Newbery Medal. This book is as wonderful as everyone has told me. It is well-written, engaging, and enjoyable. I am not done with it yet, but I am hoping to finish before it, also, expires.

All in all, I read seven complete books this summer and started three more. I may get one more book started before school starts, but I definitely want to finish NeverwhereThe Pact, and The One and Only Ivan. So what have you been reading this summer? Feel free to let me know in the comments and make suggestions!

Leave a Reply

