The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Summer Reading VIII: Neverwhere

I finally finished reading Neverwhere! I have to say, first off, that the only other books by Neil Gaiman that I had read were Coraline and The Graveyard Book. I have been following Mr. Gaiman online via Twitter for years, and have grown to greatly admire him both as a writer and as an individual. He seems to be a truly classy gentleman and a man who is passionately passionate about life.

So, Neverwhere. It is a bizarre tale of a man from London Above (the city of London in England that we all know) who finds himself caught up in the world of London Below (an entire city that exists among the abandoned tube stations and sewers of old London). Richard Mayhew is a guy who just lives his life, plodding along, letting things happen to him. And one day he finally decides to actively do something. This something happened to be saving the life of a girl from London Below. As a result, he found himself entering her world.

What follows is a tale of friendship and love, courage and fear, betrayal and intrigue. It is a dark tale, as many of Mr. Gaiman’s tales seem to be, but there is a light at the end of the tunnel that leaves you feeling like all the struggles along the way were worth it for the change that came across the character. Definitely worth reading by older students and adults, although I would probably shy away from reading it to my students (or encouraging them to read it on their own). For younger readers, I wholeheartedly recommend Coraline and The Graveyard Book.

Now that I’ve finished book eight, I still have nine and ten to get through, but since I don’t have a copy of either at my immediate disposal, I am going to start another book by Neil Gaiman, entitled American Gods.

Leave a Reply

