The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Sick

Last weekend I came down with a nasty cold that I battled long and hard. On Tuesday I dragged myself to school and discovered nearly a fifth of my class had also come down with nasty colds. I survived Tuesday and dragged myself to work again on Wednesday so that I could be there for my student teacher’s first observation and also so that I could participate in our fourth grade data review meeting. But by the end of the day I was still stuffed up and slightly nauseated.

So I made sub plans, called in sick, and have spent the day finally recovering from my cold. My nose is still a little stuffy, but not as bad as it was the past few days. I was able to sleep in (and on my brand-new mattress, too!), rested all morning, and felt better so my wife and I finally got our bedroom organised. (It took us slightly more than a month, but our home is finally unpacked, organised, and ready for guests to visit!) Then I spent the remainder of the day resting.

I hope that my class had a great day today. I know the sub well, as she has subbed for me many, many times in the past few years and she is a retired fourth grade teacher who used to work in the same room I work in now. I hope that my class had fun during P.E., that they wrote excellent paragraphs about a story they’ve read a couple of times, that they learned more about ecosystems, that they enjoyed continuing to learn the story of August Pullman, and that they have a better understanding of the properties of addition and subtraction that help explain how and why certain computations always work.

I hope. I won’t know for sure until tomorrow, of course. But any parents who are reading are encouraged to ask their children how their first day with a substitute teacher in fourth grade went and what they accomplished!

Leave a Reply

