The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

For the past several years, I have followed several fantastic blogs written by teachers, librarians, and authors. One of the things I have seen quite often is a common theme on Monday. It is called “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” and is hosted by Jen and Kellee at Teach Mentor Texts. I’ve always enjoyed reading about what other people are reading and getting ideas for books that I should add to my own list. But today I decided it was time to join in.

IMWAYR

 

But I’m not content to just share what I am reading. I am blessed to have an entire classroom of diverse readers. And so I asked them this morning to share with me what they are reading, too. What follows is a list of all the different books that my fourth graders at Wiley Elementary School are reading. I was amazed by the great variety of books that are being read. I remember a time when I was substitute teaching in a fifth grade classroom and it seemed that at least 75% of the class was reading the same series (Diary of a Wimpy Kid). So it is really neat to have a class of readers who consume many different types of books, genres, and authors!

  • Dork Diaries
  • Babysitters’ Club
  • The Grimm Legacy
  • The Wizard of Oz
  • Animorphs
  • Goosebumps
  • Puppies in the Pantry
  • Babymouse
  • Whatever After
  • Drama
  • Titanic: Unsinkable
  • Middle School: Get Me Out Of Here!
  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
  • The Hunger Games
  • Twilight
  • Pin Pals
  • Tuesdays at the Castle
  • Her Evil Twin
  • Captain Underpants

Several students are reading a variety of Goosebumps books and some students listed more than one title because they have their books to read at school and their books to read at home. I think this is an impressive list. I’ve already identified some titles that I will try to add to my classroom library.

So what is Mr. Valencic reading? I am actually reading several books right now: The Pact by Jodi Picoult, The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate, Wonder by R.J. Palacio (current read aloud in my class), American Gods by Neil Gaiman, and Managing the Madness: A Practical Guide to Middle Grades Classrooms by Jack C. Berckemeyer. Some are adult fiction, some YA fiction, and the last is a professional text that I am reviewing for a publisher. Lots of reading going on in Room 31! What are you reading?

2 responses

  1. What an impressive list!
    Do you have anyone reading a Lunch Lady book? Those are a lot of fun. Or any of the 43 Old Cemetery Road books?
    I loved Ivan and Wonder. I was luck enough to actually read one right after the other in February of 2012. And I used to visit Ivan when he lived in the mall in WA state. Too bad that was in the olden days before we took cellphone pics of everything!

    September 9, 2013 at 6:34 pm

    • Nobody listed those books, but several students are reading multiple books and just named one. I know that there are quite a few who love Lunch Lady. I don’t own any yet, but the series is on my list of graphic novels to buy this year.

      September 9, 2013 at 6:37 pm

Leave a Reply

