The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Teaching with YouTube

One of my goals as an educator is to effectively integrate different types of technology into my instruction. I am considerably limited by the resources I have in my room, but I still do my best. This is why I love our time in the computer lab. It gives me an opportunity to explicitly model technology, including, but not limited to, using the Internet.

Another resource I have come to rely on heavily as an educator is YouTube. There are many videos that have been created by other educators and book publishers that I have often shared with my students. With the addition of several iPads in my classroom, I’ve learned that i can access these videos via the YouTube application, which has greatly improved my ability to share relevant videos in my classroom.

Today I happened upon a video made by a 6th grade science teacher, Mr. Parr. I don’t know where he teaches, unfortunately, but I love his science-themed music videos! The first video I found by him is about the role of decomposers in the ecosystem and is set to the tune of Hall of Fame by The Script:

My students really enjoyed this video, especially because many of them knew the original song. As we walked down the hall and went to lunch, some of them were even singing the chorus, which was exactly what I was hoping would happen!

Later on I found another video by Mr. Parr, which I haven’t shared with my class yet but will tomorrow. It is about producers and is set to the tune of Bad Meets Evil’s song Lighters featuring Bruno Mars.

I think my students are going to enjoy this video, too!

One response

  1. Oh Wow! He’s got dozens of video songs. http://www.youtube.com/user/ParrMr/videos
    (FYI – Franklin Avenue Middle School (FAMS) in Franklin Lakes, New Jersey)

    Thank you for sharing these. The kids I babysit are gonna love them. 🙂

    September 20, 2013 at 1:03 am

Leave a Reply

