The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Special Guest Post

Over the summer I had the opportunity to interact with many different teachers and authors via social media, blogs, and conferences. One of the authors I struck up a conversation with was Ms. Kirby Larson, author of a number of middle grade historical fiction novels. In the process of this conversation and as a result of a guest post she wrote for the Nerdy Book Club blog, I volunteered to write a guest post for her professional blog about building a meaningful classroom library, which has been a topic of serious contemplation for me over the past several months.

Ms. Larson had initially hoped to have ten teachers respond to her request for guest bloggers, with the idea that she would feature one a month throughout the school year. Instead she had over twenty responses! Every Tuesday and Thursday on her blog, you can find these posts by teachers from all over the country. The topics are as widely diverse and varied as you would expect from such a wide group of educators!

I was asked to write a post that was between 300 and 500 words (with wiggle room). My first draft was almost 800 words, so I did a number of rewrites and got it down to about 700 words. This was still too long, so I continued to edit and rewrite until I finally got it down to a little over 500 words. My final draft was my eighth revision! (I shared this with my students when I taught a review lesson on the writing process!)

I sent in my post and waited for her response. Last night I finally got word that she would be publishing the post today! Ms. Larson also expressed that she was moved by my efforts to build a classroom library that would afford my students a wide variety of reading choices!

The post went live this morning! I am so excited to be a part of Kriby Larson’s “From the Office of the Future of Reading” series! Please take time to go visit Kirby’s blog and read not just my post, but all of the guest posts, and Wednesday wisdom!

And in case you can’t find the link, you can either click or copy and paste this into your browser:  http://kirbyslane.blogspot.com/2013/10/from-office-of-future-of-reading_29.html

2 responses

  1. I also mentioned one of your blog posts in today’s NCTE Inbox newsletter.

    October 29, 2013 at 9:43 pm

    • Thanks, Lisa! Just so you know, I introduced the character change organiser to my class last week and they really liked it (as did the staff in my building when I shared it during our inservice meeting on Friday). Any chance I can get a copy of the newsletter?

      October 30, 2013 at 6:00 am

Leave a Reply

