The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Necktie Knots

My wife had surgery today, so I had to call in for a substitute. While my students were continuing their work of improving their literacy skills, learning about the colonial era of America, taking a math test, working with their first grade buddies on our arts infusion project, going to art, listening to a story about the Revolutionary War, and reading or writing independently at the end of the day, I was sitting at the hospital, waiting to hear how the procedure went, and then getting her home (and wondering once again why the speed bumps at our complex are so big!), and caring for her during the post-operation phase.

Instead of a post about what happened in the classroom today, I decided to do a post about how I dress for work. I am 99% certain that anyone reading this blog knows that I wear neckties to work nearly every single day. (The only exceptions are when we have our assemblies and I have to  wear a school shirt and when we have a full week of school and I wear a college hoodie on Friday.) I don’t know how many know that I have been learning different ways to tie my ties over the past several months. I am not going to provide tutorials for all of them, as you can easily find them on YouTube by searching the name of the knot. (My favourite tutorial are made by a fellow named Alex Krasny, if you are interested.) I apologise in advance for the poor quality of the photos. I was working in a room with poor lighting, using the built-in camera on my computer.

In no particular order, here are the different ways I have learned to tie a necktie knot:

The Windsor – This is the classic knot that most people use when tying a tie. (There is also the Half-Windsor, but I never use it.) I first learned this way back when I was a Cub Scout, probably when I was eight or nine years old.

Photo on 2-9-14 at 4.23 PM

The Eldredge – This was the first non-Windsor knot I learned. I found it on Pinterest and initially thought it would be way to complicated to learn. It turned out to be fairly easy.

Photo on 2-9-14 at 4.25 PM

The Trinity – This is my favourite knot to use when wearing a striped tie because of the pinwheel pattern it forms.

Photo on 2-9-14 at 4.34 PM

The Cape – This is a fairly subtle knot, but you can see the different pattern on the front knot and the way the thin part forms a “cape” for the knot. I don’t use this one very often. I’m not sure why.

Photo on 2-9-14 at 4.43 PM

The Van Wijk – I like the way this form a long, skinny knot with a triple spiral.

Photo on 2-9-14 at 4.55 PM

Four-in-Hand – This is probably the easiest knot in the world to tie. I have actually only used it once when I dressed as a modern Mad Hatter from the 2009 TV show Alice. It is an integral part of another knot, featured next.

Photo on 2-9-14 at 4.56 PM

The Krasny Hourglass – Invented and named by the guy who has done all of the YouTube tutorials I’ve been using for ties, this is a double knot that starts with the Four-in-Hand and adds an inverted knot immediately below it.

Photo on 2-9-14 at 5.00 PM

The Merovingian – Originally called the Ediety, this knot gained fame from a movie character called the Merovingian. It only has five quick steps but it looks complex with the seeming tie knot within a knot appearance. Because the skinny blade of the tie is in the front and knot aligned with the wide blade, it is definitely a knot for a sweater, cardigan, vest, or jacket!

Photo on 2-9-14 at 4.21 PM

The Murrell – This knot is what happens when you invert the sides of the Windsor. The skinny blade ends up in front, so, much like the Merovingian, you should wear something over the tie to cover up the bottom.

Photo on 2-9-14 at 5.02 PM

The Truelove – Invented by Eliot Truelove, another necktie enthusiast with a YouTube channel with knot tutorials, this one took me a long time to master. It isn’t actually that difficult to learn, but it may take several tries to get everything in place so the four quadrants are aligned properly.

Photo on 2-9-14 at 5.24 PM

There are several other necktie knots out there. In fact, a friend shared an article with me that determined that there are over 177,000 ways to make a necktie knot! However, since most of them end up looking fairly similar, I have no interest in learning them. I also haven’t taken the time to learn the knots that look similar to the Windsor. I will be learning other knots in the future, for sure, but for the time being, these ten knots keep me fairly well satisfied!

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Learning To Let Go |

  2. Very useful to see what all the knots actually look like in real life, thank you for this

    March 25, 2016 at 5:11 pm

Leave a Reply

