The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Warm(er) Weather

By most standards, one would be hard-pressed to consider today a day of warm weather. It was about 30 degrees in the morning, with a brisk wind blowing. The temperatures did get up to the 60s this afternoon, which was pretty awesome. According to the calendar, though, we still have a little less than two more weeks of school.

But the weather today was pleasant enough that I was able to do several things I haven’t done since November!

First, I finally got to ride my bike to work again! I live about 5-6 miles away from my building, which is just close enough to be “bike-able” but far enough to make the ride a decent workout. With the constant layer of snow and/or ice we’ve had for the past several months, though, biking has not been an option for me. So today, with the temperatures above freezing and the sun up early (about the only good thing about Daylight Savings Time), I was able to hop on my bike and come to work. It took me about 35 minutes, which is fairly typical, and I was fairly worn out, but it was worth it! I felt energised and ready for the day!

Another thing I got to do today was take my class outside! We went outside last week a few times, but it was still pretty chilly and the students weren’t too excited about being out of doors. Today, though, was our regularly-scheduled day for physical education and I was absolutely going to take advantage of the warm(er) weather! We got some of the balls and headed outside! After doing some stretches and warm-up activities, the students had the option of playing soccer, basketball, kickball, or playing tag in order to soak up the sun’s rays and get some fresh air!

The other thing we did for the first time in what seemed like forever was go outside for a morning recess with other classes! Again, we went outside a few times last week, but we didn’t have a whole lot of time due to testing schedules, and we weren’t able to go out as the same time as the other classes because they were either getting ready for testing or were going to the fine arts classes. So it was quite nice to have multiple classes outside, burning off the energy that has been pent up for so very long!

I know that there is the possibility of cooler weather returning later this week, but I am not going to focus on that. Instead, I am going to be thankful for the warm(er) weather we have today!

Leave a Reply

