The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Meeting Our New Student Teacher

My students got to meet our new student teacher for the semester today! Ms. Schultz, who has given me permission to use her name in the blog, visited my classroom for the first time last year, where were talked about some of the goals for this year and I was able to introduce her to some of the teachers in the building. After a busy summer, she came in this morning ready to get to know my class and integrate herself into the classroom!

She started the day supporting me with my morning supervision assignment, where I greet students as they exit cars and join other students near the building. Then she came in and watched as the students got settled, made lunch choices, and started working on their journal assignments. During our morning meeting, I asked her to introduce herself to the class. Surprisingly, several students had not even noticed she was there! After sharing where she grew up and what she is doing at the University of Illinois, she made an effort to get to know the class.

Throughout the day, Ms. Schultz watched what we were doing in the room, learned students’ names, and assisted in different classroom activities. Even though today was her first day and she is mostly going to observe the next two weeks, she even helped students with their math work this afternoon!

I’m excited to have a student teacher working with my class every Tuesday and Wednesday for the first semester. It is always wonderful to have another adult in the room and it is great having a student teacher who helps me constantly reflect on my professional practices and think about what I am doing and why I am doing it!

Leave a Reply

