The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Fresh Starts

I’ve been thinking about fresh starts today. We had a student switch into my classroom, helping to balance the numbers in the two fourth grade rooms. I’ve been thinking about the idea that this is a new year so all the mistakes of the past are just that: in the past. Each day is also a fresh start. So even though I may get really frustrated when some students are making the same poor choices over and over, I know that each day is a fresh start. I do not and will not allow their mistakes to cumulate. I will start each day anew.

I ask each student to do the same. Learn from the past, make each day better, and allow everyone a chance to restart.

Also, my computer died and the district tech guys had to take it in for repairs. So even my MacBook Pro is getting a fresh start!

Leave a Reply

