The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

When Technology Fails

I mentioned yesterday that my laptop died and had to be taken in for repairs or replacement. (I haven’t heard anything yet.) Today we had more technological glitches.

I had planned on using our tablets to launch reading with partners. I discovered Wonderopolis last year and have loved using it in my classroom. My students, also, have loved it.

Alas, it was not to be today. Even though I had charged all of my tablets last week and thought I had turned them off, I must not have. When I went to take them out this morning, they were all dead!

I started charging them, but they weren’t ready in time for our literacy work. So I had the students partner up and just read good ol’ books together! We reviewed expectations and then I set them free to read together. I was pleasantly surprised to see that they were able to do so for fifteen minutes without any interruptions!

I’m looking forward to doing it again on Tuesday with the tablets!

Leave a Reply

