The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Guest Blogging

It is a surreal experience to have someone else ask you to contribute to their blog. It is still surreal when all they do is ask for people willing to contribute and you send an email or a tweet and you get an affirmative response.

My guest blogging experience started with the Nerdy Book Club in June 2012. (I’ve only written one guest post there; I should see about doing another soon.) The following summer, author Kirby Larson had written a guest post and asked for teachers willing to be a part of a writing project with her. I, of course, jumped at the opportunity, and thus struck up the most unexpected (for me) teacher-author relationships. I wrote a post for Kirby and, as a token of appreciation for being one of the first to reply, received a copy of her Newbery Honor book, Hattie Big Sky. It humbles me, as a relatively inexperienced teacher at an obscure school in a small urban community in the middle of cornfields, to have an award-winning author talk to me, share with me, and be a part of my classroom.

Today marks the second time I have been a guest on Kirby’s blog. She asked several teachers to play a game: she would give a list of questions, and we would answer. The responses have been going up every Tuesday since the start of the school year. I’m not going to steal Kirby’s site traffic by posting the questions, or my answers here. If you want to see them, you’ll have to click the link and visit her blog! I am going to steal her idea, though. Starting this Saturday, I am going to feature responses from my students to questions about reading, writing, mathematics, science, social studies, physical education, fine arts, and recess. I have 23 students in my class. Student Saturday posts will go up each Saturday starting this week and continuing on through just about the end of the year. This is going to be my first serious attempt at student guest blogging. I hope it’ll be fun! I will continue to follow my rule of not using any student names on my blog, though, but this will hopefully give a sneak peek (not a sneak peak) into the thoughts of my students.

Leave a Reply

