The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Using eBooks

In my ongoing quest to find and use appropriate resources for my students to use with our Chromebooks, I have been fortunate to work in a district that is fully supporting these efforts. In addition to encouraging me to use the resources I have found and share them with others, district leaders have been able to secure resources for us. One such resource is Scholastic’s Storia School program.

With a collection of nearly 2,000 eBooks, my students can access high-quality literature that is sorted by guided reading level, grade level equivalent, genre, and a host of other ways. Each student has his or her own individual username set up through my classroom account so that they can track their reading, save books, and build their own collection on a digital bookshelf.

I introduced Storia School to my class this morning. My goal was to get everyone signed in and set up and then help explore the site. Of course, that isn’t what happened. Instead, students got signed in, found books, and started reading right away! In just 30 minutes, my 22 students got set up, logged in, and read, as a class, 1,097 pages from 58 eBooks. 11 of those books were read from start to finish. After reading, students are able to answer a short five-question quiz about the text. I love how engaged my students were and how excited they were to explore Storia and read!

I have just learned that school is being canceled tomorrow due to the severe cold weather, but I hope that at least some of my students will take advantage of their new Storia School accounts to get in some reading while at home!

Stay warm!

Leave a Reply

