The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Getting Out of a Slump

I just realised it has been over a week since I last wrote a blog post. I don’t know why I’ve had such a hard time updating each day this year. Maybe it is because of grad school, maybe it is because I feel so totally exhausted at the end of the day, maybe it is just because I feel like I am repeating myself a lot after more than four years of blogging about my teaching experiences.

The thing is, I don’t think I actually am repeating myself all that much. Each year provides a new class with new experiences and each day is a fresh start. I don’t think I’m in a rut or in a slump. I think I’m just trying to get back into the habit of writing. My father-in-law, whose many hats includes published author, has often shared that one of the tricks to writing is to just do it. Write! Every single day!

This is good, sound advice! So is this bit of wisdom from a favoured author:

So even though I’ve said it before, I’m going to say it again, because it is the same standard that I hold my students to: I need to write every day. It doesn’t have to be perfect. It doesn’t have to be earth-shattering. It doesn’t even have to be good. It just has to be something. Of course, it has to be something about the classroom, even if it is just a brief snippet of a conversation with a student.

I want my students to work on their writing every day. I can’t in good conscience tell my students to do something that I myself am not willing to do, too. So I am going to start writing again every day and hopefully I will get out of this slump and back into the swing of things. After all, this blog is my space to reflect on my teaching practices and what happens in my classroom and I can’t do that if I am not, well, doing it!

I also need my handful of faithful readers to hold me accountable. Whether you call me out on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, email, phone call, text message, or carrier pigeon, I need someone to be my writing accountability buddy. So if you are willing to help me, please let me know if I haven’t shared something on my blog by 5 pm!

 

 

Leave a Reply

