The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

PARCC Testing – Day Three

Today was the last English/Language Arts section of the PARCC Performance-Based Assessment. (The PBA is designed with an expectation that students have been exposed to approximately 75% of the curriculum at this point and is intended to assess their level of performance at this point. The End-of-Year assessment will be in May and will have a format and questions that are more like what we currently think of as annual high-stakes standardised testing.)

The third ELA unit focused on narrative writing. This is a skill that we have spent a lot of time on in my room, including an intensive writers’ workshop unit designed by Lucy Calkins that Mrs. DeHart helped introduce. Because of this, I wasn’t too worried about how my students would do with writing narratives. However, I did remind them, before we started testing, that they should always go back and read their stories again to see if they make sense and to check for any additional details that could be added.

While they were testing, I was doing what I’ve been doing for three days now: walking around the computer lab, monitoring individual students and ensuring that nobody was talking or otherwise disrupting the testing environment. (Even though I repeatedly tell my students that PARCC is not the end-all, be-all of their educational careers, I still want them to take it seriously and avoid distractions.) I decided to use a pedometer while circulating the lab today, so that I could see how many steps I actually took. I reset my pedometer, and started circulating. After about 20 minutes I decided to check it.

It would appear my pedometer is broken. It didn’t record a single step! I was disappointed, but I am going to try to find a new one tomorrow so I can see how many steps I take. I don’t know if I will cross 10.000, but I am hoping to at least exceed 5,000 steps!

Happy Wednesday! We are officially more than halfway through our testing week!

Leave a Reply

