The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Student Guest Post 1: A Week in Review

As promised yesterday, I have decided to bring back my practice of inviting students to write guest posts for me on Fridays during our Read, Write, Think! time. I gave a very brief description of what the students could do, then asked if I had any brave individuals willing to write a post for us. (I will allow up to four students to collaborate on a post.) Recognising that this was the first time they had ever done anything like this and acknowledging that I have not modeled for the class how to write a blog post, what follows is the first student guest post of the year, exactly as written:

we did are science  project  about fishes    then  we did physical education   walking for 15 minutes.

Okay, so I definitely need to work with my class on adding more substance to their writing! I am actually going to use this post as a jumping point for writing on Monday. We will work collaboratively to correct spelling, capitalisation, punctuation, and spacing. Then we will add more content. The goal will be to turn this run-on sentence into two full paragraphs.

Still, not bad for a first attempt at writing a blog! Thank you to the two boys who took a risk and volunteered to go first!

Happy weekend, everyone! And happy National Bow Tie Day! (Sorry, Dr. Owen, for not wearing orange; I guess I need to find an orange bow tie!)

Photo on 8-28-15 at 3.56 PM

Leave a Reply

