The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Book Review: 33 Minutes … Until Morgan Sturtz Kicks My Butt

I have been fortunate enough to be able to attend the Illinois Young Authors Conference in Bloomington, Illinois, each May for the past three years. In the process I have met awesome young people who write fantastic stories and also have been able to network with professional published authors from our state. Through this conference, I have been able to introduce my students to wonderful new books. I have also, from time to time, struck up professional friendships with these writers.

I decided this year to use several of the books I have received at the conference for read-alouds with my class. One of the first books I selected was a work of fiction by Todd Hasak-Lowy called 33 Minutes … Until Morgan Sturtz Kicks My Butt. One reason I picked this book, other than it being such a great story, was that it was inspired, in a way, by Mr. Hasak-Lowy’s own experiences in middle school. When I do my realistic fiction narrative writing unit with my class, one of the suggestions is for students to select personal experiences and use them as the “seed” for their stories. During the Young Authors Conference this past May, I mentioned this to Mr. Hasak-Lowy and he thought it would be a wonderful connection and offered to do a Skype chat or something similar with my class to share his writing process.

We started reading 33 Minutes during the second week of school. It has been an interesting experience, because the narrative style is very different from what my students are used to. Instead of being a fairly linear tale, it jumps back and forth between the present and the past. Instead of numbered chapters, each section is separated with a timestamp. All throughout, students get a picture of what other students may think about middle school: the challenges of finding where you fit in, dealing with teachers who are either excessively strict, excessively passive, or excessively passionate about geeky matters, and, of course, the end of lifelong friendships.

I wasn’t sure how well my class was accepting the story, but we finished it today and the majority of the class felt it was a great story! At least one student went to the local library and acquired a copy so he could reread the entire book. (He actually passed us and finished the book a day earlier than we did!)

Now that we are done, I will be contacting Mr. Hasak-Lowy to see if he is still willing and able to chat with my students via Skype. I understand how busy authors often are, though, but I know that my students would be thrilled to chat with a “real” author!

Leave a Reply

