The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

A Job for Everyone

For many years now, I have used the idea of having classroom jobs in my room as I way to help foster a sense of shared responsibility for our classroom.

IMG_3496

 

At the same time, I have been pondering how I can really improve the use of time at the end of the day. As I have mentioned recently, the end of the day routines in my classroom have been somewhat chaotic this year, so I switched my P.E. and read aloud times and moved Today’s Topics into a facet of my Daily CAFE (literacy block). These changes have helped, but there has been still chaos at the end of the day or, even worse, we run out of time for our read aloud.

I was talking to my student teacher about this frustration and told her that I would be asking around and seeking ideas from others to see what they’ve done. I remarked that, during my first year of teaching, I had several students in the after-school child care program who would come into my room to stack chairs for me. However, this hasn’t been a feasible solution this year. Then I thought about making it a responsibility for my substitute helpers, who have also been tasked with passing out lunch cards each day.

And that’s when it hit me: I need more jobs.

In fact, I need a job for every student, every day.

So I Googled “classroom job ideas” and found a list from Scholastic that was pretty good but I adapted it to fit my needs and added a few roles. Then I updated my classroom job chart, so this is what it looks like now:

IMG_3497

I have also typed up brief descriptions of the jobs that will be placed next to the chart so that students can see what they are expected to do. I am sure that there will be some bumps along the way as we get these new routines in place, but I am also sure that making sure that every student has a job to do every day will help strengthen our sense of community.

And hopefully less chaos at the end of the day.

Leave a Reply

