The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Holiday Parties and Gifts for Teachers

Today marked the end of the first semester for students. (Teachers and other staff still have one more day of work tomorrow.) As per tradition, the classes at Wiley had holiday parties in the afternoon to celebrate the end of the semester and to send the students off on a high note for their two-week winter break. And, as is also traditional, many students brought in small gifts for their teacher.

This got me thinking about a post I wrote last year. There had been a slew of blog posts shared by, I hope, well-meaning people offering advice on what to get teachers for gifts. However, these posts were often full of restrictions and suggestions on what not to get, setting up a scenario in which the reader could imagine teachers being disappointed or even angry that students gave them candy, handmade cards, or other such traditional gifts. And I so I responded, wanting to make sure that the students and parents in my classroom knew that I appreciate each gift I receive from my students, regardless of its value.

In addition to being appreciative of the gifts I was given, I was also amused. You see, at the start of the year, I shared a Google Slides presentation with my class about expectations and procedures and mentioned in it that backpacks should not be brought into the classroom unless they were full of books for our book exchange or chocolate for the teacher. I have regularly made reference to how much I love chocolate, as well as books, bacon, and geeky science fiction and fantasy things. Here’s a picture of what my students (and some colleagues) got for me this year:

12391776_10105738875519270_6977798051376021270_n

I guess my students really do listen to me! Lots of chocolate, several books, root beer (one of my favourite beverages), and a Star Wars Stormtrooper mug.

Thank you, everyone, for a wonderful semester! It has definitely been a roller coaster with its ups and downs and I know that I have not been as consistent in my blogging this year as I have been the past five years (and I know that I still have five posts to write about some big events we recently participated in), but there have been mores ups than downs and I have been pleased with the growth of my students and my own growth as a professional. I don’t know how much updating I will be doing over the winter break, but I am looking forward to getting some rest before we dive into the second half the year come January!

Happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

