The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Random Quotations from Room 31

“Wow! Adding and subtracting mixed numbers is actually fun when you know what you’re doing!” (Said at the end of our guided math group when she finally understood the process of regrouping fractions, turning improper fractions into mixed numbers, and reducing to simplest form.)

“Hey, Mr. Valencic, do you know what stevia is?” (Asked in the middle of a reading test that had absolutely nothing to do with stevia. At. All.)

“I’ve only read the first Harry Potter series. I haven’t read the second one.” (Said when we were discussing Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, and Star Wars. She got her main characters mixed up.)

“You’ve never seen Star Wars?!” “Well, I think I’ve seen about five minutes of the first one?” (Said during the same conversation as above.)

“I read books on my own!” “Oh, really? Name the last complex book you read.” “I just finished The Hobbit.” “You read that for class. Name the last complex book you read for fun.” “Double Fudge. Wait, no, that’s not complex. Um… I don’t know!” (Also said during the same conversation as above.)

Welcome to fourth grade at the end of the year, my friends. What random quotations have your heard recently?

Leave a Reply

