The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

Temperature Checks

One of the things that I am trying to do more consistently this year is having my class do quick “temperature checks” throughout the day. All I do is ask the students to let me know how they are doing by giving a thumbs-up (going well), thumb-to-the-side (I’m having some trouble), or thumbs-down (I’m totally lost).

The temperature check is used when we are working our way through a new concept or skill as well as when the students are doing independent work. I am amazed at how simple it is and how readily my students will indicate how they are doing.

I have especially appreciated being able to use the temperature check to see if students are able to monitor what they are doing during independent work times while I am meeting with small groups. After checking in during the different stations we have during reading workshop, my students are able to self-correct any undesired behaviours, refocusing on what they are supposed to be doing.

My goal for the week is to use this simple strategy more regularly throughout the day and especially while I am working with groups. My hope is that this will help increase independent stamina and also help my students be more aware of what they are doing throughout the day. How well it works over time is yet to be seen, but I am hopeful!

Leave a Reply

