The adventures of a fourth grade teacher in East Central Illinois.

A Good Day for a Bad Hair Cut

Many friends, family, and regular readers of this blog (all fifteen or so of you) know that, about four and a half years ago, I challenged the Wiley students and community to read 1,000,000 minutes in a single school year. It was an ambitious goal but, with everyone working together, we not only achieved our goal, we exceeded it by 247,277 minutes! The incentive for this goal? I agreed to let my hair grow all year long and then let one of our teachers shave off all of my hair during a whole-school assembly.

Two years later, I challenged the students to solve 1,000,000 math problems. Once again, I agreed to let this awesome teacher shear me like a sheep. Due to a number of clerical errors and false starts, we only achieved half our goal, and so, instead of shaving all of my hair, she only shaved off half. (I just searched and, apparently, I didn’t blog about this evening. Oops.)

At the start of this year, my school district hired elementary physical education teachers for the first time in at least 30 or 40 years. We have been super excited to have a trained P.E. teacher in the building and the students have loved the variety of games, activities, and learning they are doing. A few months ago, our P.E. teacher got permission to have the class participate in a fundraiser for the American Heart Association, Jump Rope for Heart. (Students could also do Hoops for Heart.) He wanted to set up a school-wide challenge to reward the class that raised the most money and, wouldn’t you know it, I was asked to sacrifice my beautiful, curly locks once again.

img_1513

All for a good cause, right?

The students at Wiley raised over $1,000, which is nearly twice as much as they raised the last time our school did this fundraiser back before I was even here. The class that raised the most was given the privilege of giving me a hair cut today. A very, very bad hair cut.

img_1516

img_1526

Afterwards, that same teacher who has shaved my head twice before chopped off the majority of my hair, finishing my very bad hair cut.

img_1533

img_1534

When I got home from work this afternoon, I, with the assistance of my wonderful and understanding wife, shaved off the rest this evening. I’ll come to school on Monday with a beautifully bald head and will keep it that way until at least the end of PARCC testing in April (unless I run out of razors before then.)

img_1538

Leave a Reply

